Andrew Burroughs Young Investigator Award

2018 Winner: To be announced

In honour of the late Professor Andrew Burroughs, who sadly passed away in March 2014, the BASL committee established the ‘Andy Burroughs Young Investigator Award’. Amongst Professor Burroughs’ many achievements was his significant contribution to liver transplantation. Consequently, the Young Investigator Award will be associated with the BLTG Liver Transplant Meeting.

This prize is awarded to young investigators, scientific or clinical, who are in training or within 2 years of taking up consultant positions (or equivalent). The winner will deliver the prize lecture at the Meeting on Wednesday 19th September, and will also receive free registration to the meeting and £1,000.

To apply
Please send one A4 sheet outlining the research and another A4 sheet listing up to 5 related publications to

Submission Deadline - Tuesday 31st July 2018


Dame Shelia Sherlock Research Prize

2018 Winner: To be announced

Each year BASL presents the Dame Sheila Sherlock research prize, one of the highlights of the annual meeting. This prize is awarded annually to recognise the enormous contribution of Dame Sheila Sherlock to the development of Hepatology as a discipline in its own right.
In keeping with Dame Sheila’s enthusiasm for fostering young researchers, this eponymous research prize is awarded to young investigators without substantive posts in either medicine or science for their research contributions in the field of Hepatology.

About Dame Sheila Sherlock

When Dr Sherlock started her medical career, little was known about liver disease. Her work helped to establish hepatology as a medical specialty. She pioneered the use of needle liver biopsy, which had been used purely as a research tool, based on the technique of Sir John McMichael; this improved understanding of the pathology of liver disease and is used in the diagnosis of liver diseases today. The liver unit that she set up at the Royal Free Hospital became the centre for both research into liver disease and the education of trainees in the specialty.

Dame Sheila was involved in the foundation of the British Liver Club in 1961, which subsequently evolved into The British Association for the Study of the Liver (BASL). She was one of our past presidents and the first recipient of The BASL Distinguished Service Award.

The winner of the award will deliver a lecture presenting their research during the Annual Meeting, 19-21 September 2018. This year the prize is free registration to the meeting, a place at the Annual Dinner and £1,000.

To apply
Please send one A4 sheet outlining the research and another A4 sheet listing up to 5 related publications to

Submission Deadline - Tuesday 31st July 2018


Foundation For Liver Research Award For Basic Science

2018 Winner: To be announced

The ‘Foundation for Liver Research Award for Basic Science’ will be awarded to the highest scoring abstract in the Basic Science Category.


Nurse Bursaries 

Please go to the BLNA Meeting page to find out the details of the nurse bursaries and how to apply. 


 Back to Top